Event Coverage, Featured

UMI Motorsports Park hosts Optima’s DriveAutoX


Optima’s DriveAutoX presented by UMI Performance, Inc. made the trek to UMI Motorsports Park on June 20-21, 2020. 89 competitors signed up to tackle the very technical UMIMP layout. DriveAutoX features six different divisions, ensuring there’s a place for you and your hot rod. When the dust settled after two days of autocross, we crowned six class winners and everyone went home smiling from ear to ear. DriveAutoX even features an old school heads up shootout that keeps racers and fans on the edge of their seats.

Driver Gallery

From muscle cars to modern cars, imports to domestics, the racers and teams had a great time racing at UMI Motorsports Park. Drivers spent the first day and a half autocrossing and working toward the top qualifying spots. Top qualifiers included Andrew Scott (SCN), Ed Walls (SCB), Justin Peachey (NLO), Bob Bertelsen (GTV), MC Gallagher (GTU) and Joel Voigt (GT).

Shootout Gallery

One of the coolest features of DriveAutoX is the old school shootout to determine the weekends champions. Of course it’s prestigious to be the top qualifier but when the chips are down, do you have what it takes to back it up? In the case of the six classes, four top qualifiers made it through to win their divisions, while two drivers made it to the pinnacle from further down the speed charts. Justin Peachey (NLO), Andrew Scott (SCN), Joel Voigt (GT) and Bob Bertelsen (GTV) went rounds and secured the win from pole position. Rob Charnesky (GTU) and Chris Brown (SCB) pulled off the upset in their respective divisions to take the title. Judging by the tension in the pits and from the crowd, this pursuit style of autocross is a thing and it’s awesome. Great job drivers.

Class Winners

Chris Brown (SCB)- 2014 Ford Fiesta
Andrew Scott (SCN)- 1993 Ford Probe
Rob Charnesky (GTU)- 2006 Lotus Elise
Bob Bertelsen (GTV)- 1968 Chevrolet Corvette
Justin Peachey (NLO)- 2007 Chevrolet Corvette
Joel Voigt (GT)- 2015 Chevrolet Camaro Z28
Back to list